Yate Town 1-2 Mousehole – Match Report

Ryan Hillier vs Mousehole

Yate Town 1 Mousehole 2
Sage 19 – Turner 58, Bray-Evans 61

Darren Mullings brought Jadyen Brown, Ryan Hillier and Joe Hall into the starting lineup for this game with George Box, Chris Peck and Brandon Oputeri dropping to the bench following the side’s excellent 2-2 draw at Bishop’s Cleeve on Tuesday evening.

A close fought game saw Mousehole turn the game around with two quickfire second half goals.

Yate Town had the best of the first half and Will Sage fired them in front after 19 minutes following a cross from Sam Pashen, his shot going in off a post. It was Sage’s first goal for the club but he departed with an injury shortly after to be replaced by Joe O’Loughlin, making his last appearance for the club before going to Australia. Despite Mousehole looking good in possession Yate Town continued to dominate large periods of the game and were full value for their half-time lead despite neither keeper being severely tested.

Yate started the second half well but a change of formation from the visitors soon led to them looking more dangerous and on 58 minutes, following a mistake by Sam Pashen, leading goal scorer Hayden Turner pounced on the opportunity to fire the side from Cornwall level.

And just 3 minutes later Mousehole were in front as substitute Jack Bray-Evans low shot eluded Aaron Sainsbury in the Yate goal to put the visitors in front.

Yate tried to get back in the game and Dylan Lewis was always a danger and with Ryan Hillier showing good touches the home fans were hopeful of seeing an equaliser but despite efforts from O’Loughlin, Hillier and Lewis, Oliver Chenoweth in the Mousehole goal and his defence stood firm and Mousehole returned to Cornwall with the three points and remain undefeated in the league so far this season.

Yate Town: Sainsbury, Pashen, L. Hall, McMillan, Parsons, Sage (O’Loughlin 26), Brown (Oputeri 71), J. Hall, Hillier, Dempsey (Peck 49), Lewis. Unused sub: Box

Mousehole: Chenoweth, Lewis, Pursall, Hill, Turner, Goldsworthy (Nixon76), Mitchell (Symons 65), Bissett (Bray-Evans 45), Barrett, Elcock, Sousa. Unused subs: Otto, Fraser

Referee: Mike Hickson

Yate Town Man of the Match (Selected by Match Sponsors ‘Scotch Egg Appreciation Society’) : Lewis Hall

Lewis Hall MOTM


Yate Town: J. Hall (36), Sam Pashen (45+5), E. McMillan (71)
Mousehole: Barrett (45+3), Pursall 68)

Attendance: 266